C.D. #2: An Unexpected Turn of Events, Part 2

Standard

We are now on Monday:

timeline6

I am still all a-flutter at the thought of my date Tuesday night. Jay and I were text messaging like crazy on Monday. A bunch of “I’m looking forward to it” text messages and just some other random chit chat. I had to work Monday night at my PT job, so I called him when I got home.

Him: Hey you.

Me: Hey! What’s going on?

Him: Oh, just playing COD with my brother.

Me: Oh my God, AGAIN?

Him: Yeah, hold on. (Again, I heard screaming) he’s pissed off at me again.

Me: He is totally going to hate me.

Him: Ah, who cares. Besides, he won’t hate you, he thinks you’re cool already.

Me: He does?

Him: Yeah. I had lunch with him today and told him about this amazing girl who is cute, funny and really does like sports. And KNOWS about sports. He was impressed. (So FUCK YOU, RON!)

Me: Well I’m flattered.

Him: Yeah… I’m not going to talk too long tonight, just because we were both up so late last night, and I want to make sure that we’re rested for tomorrow.

Me: Good plan.

So we make plans as to where & when we’re going to meet. Then he says:

Okay, well, I’ll let you go. I’m really looking forward to tomorrow night.

Me: Me too. I’m nervous, though.

Him: No need to be. It will be great. Good night, hon.

Me: Night.

And now the day is here:

timeline72

Again, we spend the day text messaging. I tell him again, that I’m nervous, but its an excited nervous. This is what he texts me:

“Let me tell you something. I’m not nervous about this because this is the most comfortable I’ve been going into a first date. It will be great. I already know it. So don’t worry.”

And he totally put me at ease. Well, sort of. We had decided to meet downtown at a really great Mexican restaurant at 7:00. I decided to leave my place at 6, get there early, and have a beer to calm my nerves. I had had my outfit planned out for a couple of days. Dark jeans, simple black, flat Mary-Janes and a short sleeved black shirt that showed off the girls enough, but not TOO much. Simple bracelet and I was good to go. God was especially nice to me because my hair looked AMAZING that day. And had actually not FLATTENED like it tended to do. (I am cursed with thick, FINE hair. It blows.) The entire time, Jay and I are texting, giving status updates on what we were doing, what music we were listening to, etc.

So at 6, I get a text from Jay telling me he’s getting in the shower and he would see me soon. This is when it hits me that OH MY GOD I AM GOING ON A DATE WITH JAY. NOW I get really nervous. I climb in the car and head downtown, replaying EVERYTHING we talked about. Now, I know I didn’t go into details before about our 7 hour long conversation, that’s mainly because it was SEVEN HOURS LONG. But there are a few things to bear in mind while reading about our date. They are:

1) He made it perfectly clear he doesn’t have sex on the first date. I am 100% completely fine with that.

2) I made it perfectly clear that I don’t like holding hands on the first date. To me, that implies some sort of relationship, and I’m not comfortable doing that from the get-go. He was cool with that.

3) I also said that I don’t usually kiss on the first date, because you don’t want to give people the wrong impression. I said there have been exceptions, though. He understood

4) He made mention that he is super sensitive on his upper arms, where his tattoos are. I made it perfectly clear that OH MY GOD I LOVE TATTOOS. He promised to show them to me, just to tease me, all night long. (He even sent me multiple picture mails showing off his tattoos)

5) In response to the above, I made mention that my lower back is really sensitive. I love when people touch me there, but it makes me shiver. He also promised to touch me there “on accident” as much as possible. Uh huh. Right.

Okay, that’s the highlights to remember… yeah… CAN YOU SEE WHERE THIS IS GOING? OH MY GOD I SHOULD JUST STOP RIGHT HERE.

So I arrive at the restaurant at around 6;35. I send him a text saying, “Here. Will be sitting at the bar.” Which I did. Ordered my Bud Light and began text messaging all my friends telling them how nervous I was. Suddenly, I feel a tap on my shoulder, and someone sits down next to me. Its him. I just know its him. “I could tell by the Bud Light,” he says and smiles. I knew within those 10 seconds that I was attracted to him, on all levels. The date could have ended right there and I would have been satisfied. Its so hard to explain, but it was electric, like there was something comfortable and all exciting between us, all wrapped up into a big ball of… something. So we start talking. The conversation is pretty much instantaneous. Its like we’ve known each other for years. We’re laughing, joking around, and suddenly, he looks at me slyly and says, “Well look what we have here…!” and lifts up the sleeve on his shirt. His tattoo. Ugggggggggggggggggh. Its even more impressive in person. I look at him and say, “You are evil.” He says, “No, if I was evil, I’d do this…” and he lifts the other sleeve, showing off his other tattoo. I turn to look at my beer and he starts laughing. “Oh this is going to be fun!” he says.

We talk for awhile longer, realize its 8:30 and that we should probably eat. He gets up and waits for me to move and I said, “Oh no, you go first…” fully protecting my back from his touch. He laughs and says, “Oooh. I forgot about that. Thanks for the reminder!” I scowl (playfully) at him, and we go to sit down. We order some margaritas (he loves mango ones! AWWWWWWWWW) and he tells me to order whatever I want for an appetizer. “I’ve had everything here, and they are all great.” So I look at the menu, decide that I am craving sea creatures, and say, “Calamari.” His face literally fell. I said, “Oh my God, sorry. You said order anything!” He laughs and said, “It totally figures. The one thing that is my least favorite you choose. Its like it was meant to be.” So we compromised and ordered this cheesy chorizo dip and our food. The dip comes and he actually says, “Here, let me…” and HE SERVES ME FOOD AT THE TABLE. HOW FRIGGIN AWESOME IS THAT??????? So then he lets me try a sip of his margarita and he tries mine. As I am leaning over to drink his, he reaches his arm around me, pulls me a bit closer and… runs his knuckle up my spine! I immediately stiffen, scowl at him, and it sends him into a huge burst of laughter. “Wow! That was really impressive!” he said.

I scowl some more and then start giggling. “See? I told you, now stop!” he then proceeds to lift up the sleeve of his shirt again. I smack his arm and say, “You are killing me! LETS EAT.” So we finish eating and decide to order a couple more margaritas. We’re talking about everything.. politics, family, showing off pictures of our nephews. I say, “I’ll be right back, I need to use the restroom.” I stand and AGAIN he runs his knuckle up my back. And laughs. I go to the bathroom, do a little happy dance while sitting on the toilet, and head back to the table. We finish drinking our drinks and he pays the bill (I offered for my share, but he said no). So then I say, “So…. Are you having a good time?” he says, “I am having a GREAT time.” I say, “Great enough to want it to continue for awhile longer?” He says, “What are you thinking?” I said, “I’ve never been to the Royal Mile, let’s walk down there and have a couple drinks.” He agrees. We get up, start to walk out, and AGAIN with the knuckle. I was so… shiver-y that I couldn’t get out of the building. He’s laughing his ass off saying, “Uh, Nik, you have to PULL on the door.”

So we walk down to the Royal Mile, the entire time, he’s got his arm around me, trying to do the knuckle thing again. I keep trying to dodge it and failing miserably. He finds this amusing. We take a table and order a couple of beers and he starts poking fun at me by AGAIN, showing me his tattoos. “Do you want to touch them?” he says. “Sure,” I said. And decided turn about was fair play. I poked one, and then proceeded to rub my hand lightly along his upper arm. He kinda closed his eyes for a second and I laughed. “Ha ha!” I said. “Turn about is fair play!” he tells me, “Oh, you’ve been hitting all the right notes and getting me worked up all night, I’m just better at hiding it than you are.” I said, “Well that’s good to know.” He says, “Yes, don’t think it hasn’t been hard for me to keep my eyes focused up on your face a few times.” This is where I blushed, he caught it and started laughing again. “NICE!” he said. I grinned and said, “This isn’t even my lowest cut shirt!”

So we’re sitting there talking, he keeps knuckling up my back, and by this time, I have just completely given in. I’m melting in my seat, and he knows it. “Give me your hands,” he says. “Why?” I ask, immediately suspicious. “I want to see how sensitive you are in other places.” “No!” I said, knowing where this was headed. He grins and says, “What about here?” and he leans over and runs a finger along my neck, underneath my ear. I get goosebumps and grab his hand away. “OOOOOOH!” he says. I take his hand in mine and place it on the table and hold it there. “Hey now,” he says, smiling, “you said no hand holding on the first date.” I said, “Well I am making an exception to that rule.” He then leans over and says, “I don’t have to use my hands for this…” and blows softly on my neck. More goosebumps. More fidgeting. More scowling at him because he driving me nuts and he knows it.

I run my hand up and down his arm as we start talking about what’s on ESPN and football and stuff. We finish our beers and order another one. Then he says, “So your neck is sensitive, too, hm?” I said, “Yeah, but that goes for a lot of people. They enjoy it.” He says, “Do you enjoy this?” He leans over and runs his chin (he has a goatee, so it was sorta scratchy) along my neck. I dart away and say, “yes I do, now stop it!” He starts laughing and says, “You can’t get upset, because this all falls within first date guildelines! No sex, no kissing, remember?!” I grumble and he says, “This is awesome! You were so unprepared for me, weren’t you?” I said, “Yes, I admit, I was not prepared for this.” “You’re not used to not having the upper hand, are you?” I shook my head.

After a third drink, more in depth conversation about anything you can think of and more flirting and more contact of this nature… by the way, I’m not going into any more detail about what happened in the bar. Nothing bad, it was just a lot more of what I’ve already written. Ya’ll need to understand, this teasing, on BOTH our parts, went on for about FOUR HOURS. (We closed the bar down) Moving on…

The bar closes and he tells me he’s going to walk me to my car in the lot. He puts his arm through mine & we’re walking arm in arm down the street. He makes some comment about music and I said, “You should come listen to me sing sometime.” He says, “I plan on it.” I said, “Really? So does that mean there will be a second date?” “Oh most definitely,” he says. I’m grinning from ear to ear right now.

We walk up the ramp to my car and he starts giving me shit about my tags being close to expiring. “Nooooooo.. they don’t expire until 45 days AFTER the end of the month.” (I know this by heart, trust me!) So he comes over and says, “Well, I guess this is goodbye.” And leans in to give me a huge hug. I hug him back and make a split second decision. I pull away and say, “I’m about ready to break my second first date rule.” “What’s that?” he says. “This,” I say, and I pull him in and kiss him. Kiss him with all of my pent up frustration from the past 6 hours of non-stop teasing. And man oh man, does he kiss me back. I remember thinking, “Ooh! He’s a biter!” After about a minute of the AWESOME kiss, I pull back, take a deep breath and look at him. He says, “What would you do…” he grabs my hips “if I did this…” and shoves me back up against my car. Then leans in and kisses me again. Starts nibbling my ears, neck, my chin, back up to my lips… ACK! ACK! ACK!

He pulls away and I giggle when he has to un-fog his glasses. He looks at me and smiles and I grin back. He says, “Text me to let me know you got home okay.” I nod and say, “You too.” He gives me another hug and then waits until I’ve gotten into my car and backed out. Driving away, I can still feel the scruffiness of his goatee again my mouth, and I grin. And grin. And grin. I can’t quit grinning. Oh my God I am STILL grinning.

I get home and receive a text: Made it home. Had a GREAT night. Talk to you tomorrow.

So now we’re on Wednesday…

timeline81

And Wednesday brought an unexpected turn of events…

2 responses »

  1. How can you stop there?! Oh my gosh, Nikki! You are cruel and evil and I’m so hooked! Damn you.

    But oh my gosh! What an excellent date!

Leave a comment