Bye Bye Bachelor Number 1

Standard

So, quick update on the Blast From The Past guy.. The popular opinion is that I should just ignore him. I will do as the readers command! I haven’t emailed him back at all. (And a big THANK YOU to you all for not deciding on making me go on a date with him just for the story it would create. Although I know a certain SOMEONE *ahem* tried to skew the polls…)

Okay, so I decided to go on a date with Bachelor #1 last night. We had been texting for awhile and thought about meeting up a couple of times, but my schedule has been really hectic. And actually, I just got back from a business trip yesterday, but I agreed to dinner, because a girl’s gotta eat, right?

Yeah, I should have just kept canceling.

He was fairly short. I honestly might have been taller than he was, and I only stand 5’4. And his nails were filthy. Okay, I understand that blue collar guys make have a bit more rough hands, but seriously… they shouldn’t be black.

So we go to dinner and he’s quiet. Like dead quiet. And he keeps watching the Big 10 wrestling tournament on the TV over my shoulder. So much so, I actually turn around to see what he’s staring at. When we did have conversation, with one exception (which we’ll get to in a second), I started it and he pretty much responded with 1 word answers.

Me: So, what did you do today on your day off?
Him: Nothing.

Me: Any big plans for the weekend?
Him: Nope.

Me: So do you like wrestling? (Since he was watching it so much.)
Him: Kinda.
Me: What about basketball? (Since that was on the other TVs)
Him: Nah.
Me: Yeah, I’m more of a football fan.
Him: Me too. (Success! A 2 word answer!)

So when I finally got him talking, we had a really weird conversation.

Me: So you have 3 kids?
Him: Yep.
Me: How old are they?
Him: One is 18 and he lives in Missouri with his mother. I have 2 others, 9 and 5, and they live in Indianola (about 30 miles form here) with their mother.
Me: Oh, that’s not too far away. So do you get to see them often?
Me: Nope. Never.
Me: Oh.
(awkward silence)

The way he said “Nope. Never.” didn’t give me the sense that he was sad about it. It was more matter of fact. Almost like he was kinda ambivalent. Which was cemented in the next few sentences.

Him:Yeah, I pay, um… (he appeared to be counting in his head) about $325 a week in child support.
Me: Wow! That a bunch, but I guess you gotta do what you gotta do, right?
Me: Yeah. Its a necessary evil.

Supporting your 3 kids is a necessary evil? Yeah, CHECK PLEASE.

So remember when I said he actually started one conversation? Here it comes.

Him: So you don’t have any kids?
Me: Nope, none.
Him: How’d that happen? Why not?
Me: Uhhh well.. just not interested in being a single mother, and I havent found the person I want to start a family with.
Him: So how soon are you looking to have kids?
Me: Well, considering I’m single, not anytime soon.
Him: That’s a relief!
Me: Hahahah (Because I couldn’t think of anything else to say.
Him: 3 kids and two marriages are enough for me. I’m not looking to get into either of them again.

So there ya go. I was a little concerned beforehand when I found out that he has no contact with any of his immediate family, too. Like, for Christmas, he went to a friend’s house. You never know a family’s situation, I mean maybe something horrible went wrong, but its still odd. Especially since I’m so close to mine. But whatever.

BYE BYE, Bachelor #1!!

Enter Bachelor #5. Now THIS ONE sounds like a winner. Seriously:

Bachelor #5
Location: About 2 hours away
Profession: Elementary Teacher and Coach
In his own words: I am most passionate about sports. I coach both football and baseball and love everything that goes into that profession. I think that sports can teach you a lot of life’s lessons including what hard work and determination can do for you. I love teaching and really try to make a difference in my students lives each day. I am outgoing, independent, family orientated, enjoys sports, and can get along with a wide range of people.
Pros (as I see them): Loves kids, has a strong family unit, and loves sports (and TALL! 6’7)
Cons (as I see them): Distance. BLAH! Plus he’s really cute, and it always makes me nervous when really cute guys appear to be interested in me. (I get nervous)

So there ya go. I’m eliminating them slowly.
Well adding, too.
I am going to have a revolving door for awhile.
STOP THE MADNESS!

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

